Other people pull off the cute geek so well

Unfortunately for me, I could never really do the cute, awkward geek. I tend to be the inarticulate bumbling geek who accidentally spills the beer she’s pretending to drink to look cool all over whoever she’s trying to look cool in front of. But heck, I’ve got soul. Sort of.

Anyway, I like how all of a sudden being a nerd is kind of cool. If you do it right. I suddenly have the chance to breath without fearing that the whole world is sniggering (yes I do care what other’s think). I now only have to hide the extreme geek inside. Like the whole Star Trek obsession, that’s apparently still not cool. The new one, sure, you’re allowed like that for the sake of Chris Pine, or because you love JJ Abram’s work. But not for Spock. And the old shows, especially The Original (and the best in my opinion) Series, are just cringe worthy to like.

Also, you shouldn’t put The Original Series theme tune as your phone ringtone. You end up getting either weird glances from people, or total weirdos starting up conversations about how they like Star Trek too. Lose-lose situation.

So I’ve decided that my best (and possibly only) option is to curl up in bed with a DVD of Journey to the Center of the Earth, a pair of old red and green 3D glasses, and a new blog.

2 thoughts on “Other people pull off the cute geek so well

Leave a Reply

